Don't like 'Run' when deleting a files or folders

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
gerardboterman
Posts: 7
Joined: 07.04.2015, 22:55

Don't like 'Run' when deleting a files or folders

#1 Post by gerardboterman » 24.07.2016, 00:47

Hi Marek,
I find it quite confusing every time I delete a file or folder, a box coming up where I have to click a command 'RUN'; if this would show 'Delete' it would feel so much more correct.
Can this be modified.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4729
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: Don't like 'Run' when deleting a files or folders

#2 Post by Dreamer » 24.07.2016, 01:53

I'm not sure about it... There are several actions for "delete":

- send to recycle bin
- delete permanently
- wipe

None of these are 100% just "delete", 1st just move the items, wipe is not delete and there is a new feature "Queue".

I'm not sure if it's possible to easily change the "Run" with several other terms (delete, send to bin, wipe), moreover, we can change the operation within the dialog, so the button text should be changed immediately. The actual operation is in the dialog title and within the dialog, including the icon (bin/X-delete/wipe), so it's quite clear which operation it is.

Timon
Posts: 717
Joined: 13.09.2012, 08:51

Re: Don't like 'Run' when deleting a files or folders

#3 Post by Timon » 24.07.2016, 09:12

The only logical synonym that comes to mind - 'Execute', but it's much longer.

Also dialog could be changed as in all other file managers - OK, Cancel/Yes, No.

But as for me there is no need to change anything.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests