Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
gerardboterman
Posts: 7
Joined: 07.04.2015, 22:55

Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#1 Post by gerardboterman » 23.07.2016, 12:08

Hello forum users,
Using both Windows 7 and Windows 10 (2 computers) and the latest XE version, how do I get FreeCommander to open folders please?
When I click on a folder link in any program, e.g. SolidWorks, TheBrain, Excel, Windows Explorer is showing. I want FreeCommander.

I tried the following:
- I changed (ticked) the option under Tools/Redirect Win + E to FreeCommander but that seems to make no difference? Strange, what is the purpose of this.
- When I open Windows default programs, Free Commander is not listed and cannot be added
-There is no way to 'associate' folders to a program to open, like is done with file extensions.

Any suggestions please?


gerardboterman
Posts: 7
Joined: 07.04.2015, 22:55

Re: Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#3 Post by gerardboterman » 31.07.2016, 23:32

I tried as recommended, unfortunate that did not work.
Using Windows 7 and regedit v6, I added:
@="c:\\program files\\FreeCommander XE\\FreeCommander.exe /C \"%1\"" to the related keys.

Clicking a folder now did not open anything, I restored the registry.

So my question is not resolved yet . . . Anybody?

Timon
Posts: 717
Joined: 13.09.2012, 08:51

Re: Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#4 Post by Timon » 01.08.2016, 08:48

Using Windows 7 and regedit v6, I added:
@="c:\\program files\\FreeCommander XE\\FreeCommander.exe /C \"%1\"" to the related keys.
See related topic http://www.forum.freecommander.com/view ... f=2&t=6817

@="\"C:\\Program Files\\FreeCommander XE\\FreeCommander.exe\" /C /L=\"%1\""

If you want the folder to be opened in the right pane, then change /L to /R.

gerardboterman
Posts: 7
Joined: 07.04.2015, 22:55

Re: Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#5 Post by gerardboterman » 09.09.2016, 01:29

Still my outstanding question, previous replies have not worked for me.

E.g. I have got a shortcut to a folder on my desktop. When I click it, it opens with the Windows file manager.
I want it to open with Freecommander XE.

Please help!

nolandbt
Posts: 3
Joined: 05.10.2016, 13:32

Re: Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#6 Post by nolandbt » 06.10.2016, 13:18

Like others here, I am a donor. I installed FreeCommander XE 2016 Build 716 64-bit donor version. What are the additional steps I need to know? As of right now nothing has changed other than the S/W is installed only. I am running Windows 10 64-bit

horst.epp
Posts: 192
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#7 Post by horst.epp » 06.10.2016, 15:53

nolandbt wrote:Like others here, I am a donor. I installed FreeCommander XE 2016 Build 716 64-bit donor version. What are the additional steps I need to know? As of right now nothing has changed other than the S/W is installed only. I am running Windows 10 64-bit
Current Donor version is FreeCommander XE 2016 Build 729 64-bit donor
Windows 10 Home x64 Version 2004 (OS Build 19042.985)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1258a (x64)
FreeCommander XE 2021 Build 846 64-bit donor

nolandbt
Posts: 3
Joined: 05.10.2016, 13:32

Re: Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#8 Post by nolandbt » 06.10.2016, 19:28

When I looked after this post - I did not see the new update.

Timon
Posts: 717
Joined: 13.09.2012, 08:51

Re: Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#9 Post by Timon » 06.10.2016, 19:51

All depends on the amount donated, see http://freecommander.com/en/donation/

nolandbt
Posts: 3
Joined: 05.10.2016, 13:32

Re: Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#10 Post by nolandbt » 06.10.2016, 20:20

Thanks, thought as much.

Still do not have answer on why on my Windows 10 machine after installing FreeCommander it has not defaulted as file manager.

Karol
Posts: 817
Joined: 19.08.2007, 12:05

Re: Set Windows default to FreeCommander replacing Explorer

#11 Post by Karol » 06.10.2016, 21:43

Still do not have answer on why on my Windows 10 machine after installing FreeCommander it has not defaulted as file manager.
The answer is simple: there is no such function in FreeCommander.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests