customize the Function key bar

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
yom417
Posts: 9
Joined: 12.06.2016, 02:53

customize the Function key bar

#1 Post by yom417 » 15.05.2021, 08:55

Is it possible to customize the Function key bar?
For example, can you change the display of Edit to a customized F4 key?

Odamn-Ete
Posts: 245
Joined: 28.06.2017, 07:10

Re: customize the Function key bar

#2 Post by Odamn-Ete » 16.05.2021, 18:55

Hey yom417,

I can imagine, if posted in the Discussion category, this might have gotten better notice.

Maybe a Moderator can move this thread accordingly.

I don't know exactly what you are trying to do and if it is possible, i.e. "change the display of Edit to a customized F4 key".

Here is an example of something you could do.

If you have your Favorite toolbar active, you could add a favorite tool.

right click on it and select to edit the favorite toolbar

in this example I created a shortcut to open with windows notepad "Edit with Favorite Editor"

Image

Then you could define the keyboard shortcuts, such that F4 calls your favorite tool

Tools - Define keyboard shortcuts...

There are probably other and more elegant solutions possible.

Check out the manual here: https://freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/D ... lbars.html
here: https://freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/D ... tcuts.html

maybe here as well: https://freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/U ... itter.html

For more insight into all you can do with FreeCommander.

Best regards,

yom417
Posts: 9
Joined: 12.06.2016, 02:53

Re: customize the Function key bar

#3 Post by yom417 » 18.05.2021, 12:46

Thank you for your response.
What I want to do is to show the function bar and change it at will.
Is it possible to change the diagram menu?
Image

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 772
Joined: 31.10.2007, 18:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: customize the Function key bar

#4 Post by ralfso » 18.05.2021, 19:31

You can change your keyboard shortcuts at:
Tools > Define keyboard shortcuts

https://freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/D ... tcuts.html

For function bar only the shown entries are available.
If you change the shortcut for a function the other shortcut is shown.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

yom417
Posts: 9
Joined: 12.06.2016, 02:53

Re: customize the Function key bar

#5 Post by yom417 » 19.05.2021, 08:53

Thank you for your response.
I understand how to define keyboard shortcuts. I have it set up like this.
Image

What I would like to do is to display the file name change set to F4 on the function toolbar that appears at the bottom.
But I don't know how to do that.
Image

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 772
Joined: 31.10.2007, 18:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: customize the Function key bar

#6 Post by ralfso » 19.05.2021, 10:36

The command for "Multirename" isn't in the list for the function bar!
You can change the shortcut for "Rename: Multirename" but it can't be shown in function bar. Only the 15 shown commands are available.

But it doesn' matter, if you have more than one item selected and you press the shortcut for "Rename" or the button for "Rename" in the function bar, the dialog for "Multirename" is opened automatically.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 3162
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: customize the Function key bar

#7 Post by Marek » 19.05.2021, 17:29

You can define up to 10 buttons in the functions bar.
The actions for the buttons can be assigned in the freecommander.ini in the section [FunctionsBar].
Here is an example with multi rename:

Code: Select all

[FunctionsBar]
Action0=actFileView
Action1=actFileRenameMulti
Action2=actFileCopyDlg
Action3=actFileMoveDlg
Action4=actDirCreate
Action5=actFileDelete
Action6=actFileExit
The action names you can find in the language file.

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 772
Joined: 31.10.2007, 18:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: customize the Function key bar

#8 Post by ralfso » 19.05.2021, 19:58

Ah, again a topic for "FreeCommander XE "not so obvious" settings"

thank you Marek
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

yom417
Posts: 9
Joined: 12.06.2016, 02:53

Re: customize the Function key bar

#9 Post by yom417 » 20.05.2021, 04:38

Oh! I've been wanting to do this for a while.
Freecommander is the best filer.
Thank you so much Marek.
Thank you so much ralfso.

From Japanese user yom417

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests