Size on disk info for Status Bar

Suggestions and feature requests.
Message
Author
User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1335
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Size on disk info for Status Bar

#1 Post by Forez » 20.09.2023, 11:21

Under the

Tools > Settings > View > Status Bar > Content > Define Details > Text Pattern

and

Tools > Settings > View > Status Bar > Content > Define Details > Hint Pattern

user scan utilize

Code: Select all

[fc_sizeAutoSel]
[fc_sizeSel]
[fc_sizeKBSel]
[fc_sizeMBSel]
to see info about the real size of selected items


But what about size on a given drive, i.e. in accordance to its allocation unit size?

I think there should be separate codes for that ["size on disk" as it is described in Windows Explorer], something like

Code: Select all

[fc_sizeAutoSelAlloc]
[fc_sizeSelAlloc]
[fc_sizeKBSelAlloc]
[fc_sizeMBSelAlloc]
perhaps?

Karol
Posts: 965
Joined: 19.08.2007, 12:05

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#2 Post by Karol » 20.09.2023, 14:00

What about existing [fc_sizeOnDisk...]?

Karol
Posts: 965
Joined: 19.08.2007, 12:05

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#3 Post by Karol » 20.09.2023, 20:59

What about existing [fc_sizeOnDisk...]?
It seems that this is currently not working.

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1335
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#4 Post by Forez » 21.09.2023, 10:02

Are you merely taking an aducated guess here - or were you actually using this variable in the past?

I get zero results when I search for "fc_sizeOnDisk" [https://www.google.com/search?client=fi ... eOnDisk%22, https://duckduckgo.com/?t=ffab&q=%22fc_ ... %22&ia=web, https://www.bing.com/search?q=%22fc_siz ... cc=0&ghpl=]
Last edited by Forez on 22.10.2023, 17:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1335
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#5 Post by Forez » 22.10.2023, 17:23

Karol wrote: 20.09.2023, 20:59 [...]
currently not working.
Forez wrote: 21.09.2023, 10:02 Are you merely taking an aducated guess here - or were you actually using this variable in the past?
[...]
Well?

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 4003
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#6 Post by Marek » 23.10.2023, 20:54

But what about size on a given drive, i.e. in accordance to its allocation unit size?
You can select from the popup menu the "Size on disk ..." items.
The info "Size on disk..." is showed only if the column "Size on disk..." exists.

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1335
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#7 Post by Forez » 24.10.2023, 14:53

Yes I can, thank you

But why does it need to have SizeOnDsk Column turned on in order to be able show such on disk size?

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 4003
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#8 Post by Marek » 24.10.2023, 21:04

Providing information about the allocated memory on the hard drive slows down data loading.
Most users don't need this info.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 4003
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#9 Post by Marek » 24.10.2023, 21:40

OK, I have added option to define in the freecommander.ini (next release):

Code: Select all

AlwaysLoadFileAllocatedMemorySize=0
If you want always load the size, change the line to

Code: Select all

AlwaysLoadFileAllocatedMemorySize=1

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1335
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#10 Post by Forez » 24.10.2023, 23:39

Will this be an equivalent of turning on the Size of folders option, which option when used shows the size of folders in the Column named Size Auto?

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1335
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#11 Post by Forez » 06.04.2024, 12:42

Has this been implemented?

I get zero result when I search for

AlwaysLoadFileAllocatedMemorySize

within files of

C:\Users\YOUR-USER-NAME\AppData\Local\FreeCommanderXE\Settings

horst.epp
Posts: 463
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#12 Post by horst.epp » 06.04.2024, 14:28

Forez wrote: 06.04.2024, 12:42 Has this been implemented?

I get zero result when I search for

AlwaysLoadFileAllocatedMemorySize

within files of

C:\Users\YOUR-USER-NAME\AppData\Local\FreeCommanderXE\Settings
This entry definitely exists, at least for me
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3527)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1373a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.3, Listary Pro 6.3.0.73
FreeCommander XE 2024 Build 906 64-bit donor

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1335
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#13 Post by Forez » 06.04.2024, 14:53

In the FreeCommander.INI file? In what section of it?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 6140
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#14 Post by Dreamer » 06.04.2024, 16:32

Section:

Code: Select all

[Form]
You can just close FC and add it there manually, at the end of the list.

horst.epp
Posts: 463
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: Size on disk info for Status Bar

#15 Post by horst.epp » 06.04.2024, 16:38

Forez wrote: 06.04.2024, 14:53 In the FreeCommander.INI file? In what section of it?
[Form]
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3527)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1373a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.3, Listary Pro 6.3.0.73
FreeCommander XE 2024 Build 906 64-bit donor

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests