Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

Bugs and other issues or requests which have been resolved.
Message
Author
wheeqo
Posts: 4
Joined: 21.11.2009, 14:52

#31 Post by wheeqo » 21.11.2009, 15:00

up up up +1 this is a must feature for FC. this should be a basic feature for FC.

Gourmand
Posts: 11
Joined: 26.11.2009, 07:54

#32 Post by Gourmand » 26.11.2009, 08:07

TeraCopy is excellent utility and I use it at home and on my personal laptop. But FC does not use TeraCopy if F5 button pressed. Instead of it FC copies by it's own way.

PLEASE LET USE TeraCopy using ALL copying methods in FC!

amolbh
Posts: 1
Joined: 13.08.2011, 17:58

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving

#33 Post by amolbh » 13.08.2011, 18:06

Even I would suggest you to try to integrate Teracopy with FreeCommander instead....it does the job pretty well! :) And pressing F5 also uses TeraCopy.

tylla
Posts: 8
Joined: 07.02.2012, 11:24

Copy/Move/Delete parallel operations should wait for device

#34 Post by tylla » 31.01.2014, 19:58

When multiple Copy/Move/Delete operations are started in parallel, Free Commander should detect when a new operation is started on a device that is being already used by another operation and pause those new operations until the device is free.

I mean when for example one user starts a lengthy copy operation from drive C: to drive D:, and while this is underway the user starts another move operation from the network to drive C:, FC should pause the second operation until the first finishes, because intermixing the two operations only slows down the total throughput of the device serving drive C:.
The same should be made when two operations are using different drives but these drives have physical devices in common (e.g: from C: to E:, and from D: to net if C: and D: are on the same device).
Finally when one operation finishes, FC should set forth one of the waiting operations.

On the GUI side this could be achieved by placing another check-mark "pause and wait for other operations" on the Copy/Move/Delete dialog window near the "pause" check-mark.
Maybe there should be a setting to be able to disable this feature (but which should be enabled by default).
On the logic side, it is a little tricky and needs some deeper digging in the OS, but it would be a real time-saving feature.

As for a working example, the Servant Salamander has such a feature which can be examined at least from the GUI point of view.

I hope I was clear, if you need any further clarification, just ask.

Ps: thank you for your great work in FC, I really love this program.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4232
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#35 Post by Dreamer » 31.01.2014, 23:17

The last post has been merged with the old topic.

I think this feature is very important, I have an idea - we have "only one instance" for search, viewer, so add the same for the copy/move/delete processes, use only one dialog for all operations, if the new process is created (F5/F6...), just add the new items to the existing list, perhaps pause the operation for a moment, while new items will be added to the list.

AimHere
Posts: 52
Joined: 29.11.2010, 03:08

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#36 Post by AimHere » 01.12.2014, 17:16

+1

I'd also like to see a job queue for copy/move operations, fully integrated into FreeCommander.

asarulex
Posts: 3
Joined: 04.02.2015, 12:55

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#37 Post by asarulex » 04.02.2015, 12:58

Does job queue implemented?
For example, as in TC, by hotkeys F5/F6 => F2.

asarulex
Posts: 3
Joined: 04.02.2015, 12:55

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#38 Post by asarulex » 09.02.2015, 12:31

Any ideas how i can use FCXE with job queue and hotkeys? May be plugins?

Timon
Posts: 711
Joined: 13.09.2012, 08:51

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#39 Post by Timon » 09.02.2015, 13:35

Unfortunately, FC XE supports only wcx (packer) and wlx (lister) plugins.

Despite the large number of requests there is still no wfx (file system) or wdx (content) plugins support in FC XE.

asarulex
Posts: 3
Joined: 04.02.2015, 12:55

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#40 Post by asarulex » 10.02.2015, 13:42

Thanks for answer, Timon.
Will wait for implementing native job queue with hotkeys or wdx\wfx plugins.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4232
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#41 Post by Dreamer » 10.02.2015, 19:26

It looks there is no workaround in this topic, so here's one:

File containers - open and lock file container tab, then use it anytime to copy any number of files and folders from different locations.

I know it's just a workaround, I miss multitasking too, but perhaps some users didn't know about this way.

gabelcz
Posts: 1
Joined: 02.03.2015, 19:55

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#42 Post by gabelcz » 12.05.2015, 21:58

built in copy/move/etc queue is the most important missing feature in freecommander. Marek, please make this function for the world peace :-).

alex75
Posts: 4
Joined: 29.06.2014, 08:47

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#43 Post by alex75 » 31.07.2015, 23:40

Hi all,

+1 to have only one window for copy/move, when I'm doing multiple copies/moves from different places, instead having one window for each process.

Thnaks Marek.

alex75
Posts: 4
Joined: 29.06.2014, 08:47

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#44 Post by alex75 » 25.05.2016, 20:56

+1 Marek: any comments on it?

Timon
Posts: 711
Joined: 13.09.2012, 08:51

Re: Multitasking - while copying and moving (job queue)

#45 Post by Timon » 18.06.2016, 16:31

Implemented in FC XE 724 donor: Operations queue for operations ("Use FreeCommander" operations)
See viewtopic.php?f=6&t=775&start=165#p23639

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests