671:Tabs closed when new tab created with double click

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
[DK]
Posts: 3
Joined: 21.07.2014, 15:08

671:Tabs closed when new tab created with double click

#1 Post by [DK] » 03.09.2014, 08:40

Version: FreeCommander XE 2014 Build 671 donor
OS: Windows 7 SP1 32bit

Description:
Double click in emtpy space of tab-bar to create a new tab closes one or more other open tabs.
Often only the two leftmost open tabs "survive" left to the new one.
Seems to be forced when double click for new tab is performed for the other than the currently active side.
Error appeared repeatedly after update from build 666 to 671.
Same behaviour with default settings and without plugins.


Hope this is enough information to locate the problem. :)


Daniel

Timon
Posts: 684
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: 671:Tabs closed when new tab created with double click

#2 Post by Timon » 03.09.2014, 18:06

Confirmed in FC XE 671 (Windows XP SP3)

But it's not easy to reproduce problem.
I tried different variations and could not find the problem. But after some time I found it!

Steps to reproduce:
1. In active panel there are 4 tabs with any content
2. In inactive panel there are 2 tabs with any content
3. Try to create 3-rd tab with double click in inactive panel. You'll see that it doesn't appear and the 2-nd tab in inactive panel was closed.

User avatar
alf5000
Posts: 455
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: 671:Tabs closed when new tab created with double click

#3 Post by alf5000 » 03.09.2014, 20:21

o.k., I had time this evening and did some further investigation for that tricky behavior.

I cannot confirm for 667 and older versions.
I can confirm for 668 and younger.
Timon wrote: But it's not easy to reproduce problem.
I tried different variations and could not find the problem. But after some time I found it!
Steps to reproduce:
1. In active panel there are 4 tabs with any content
2. In inactive panel there are 2 tabs with any content
3. Try to create 3-rd tab with double click in inactive panel. You'll see that it doesn't appear and the 2-nd tab in inactive panel was closed.
Step 4: be sure you have checked the following options
Image

Step 5: double click the inactive panel close to the last tab. if you watch carefully you'll see the tab with will grow due the bold text. so the second click won't be recognized as double click but it will hit the close button on the last tab - that's it I suppose.

I hope my findings will help a bit when repairing things.

by the way, I switched off 'Bold active Tab' long time ago because I don't like the tabs changing size.
IMHO there is a scaling bug going on - as not bolded tabs are changing their size too
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

[DK]
Posts: 3
Joined: 21.07.2014, 15:08

Re: 671:Tabs closed when new tab created with double click

#4 Post by [DK] » 08.09.2014, 09:31

alf5000 wrote: Step 4: be sure you have checked the following options
I can confirm these settings, both options are checked for my configuration.

Timon
Posts: 684
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: 671:Tabs closed when new tab created with double click

#5 Post by Timon » 12.09.2014, 18:39

Still present for me in 672. But there are some nuances.
Steps to reproduce:
1. In active panel there are 4 tabs (in all tabs is opened C:\5 folder (folder name should be as short as possible))
2. In inactive panel there are 2 tabs (in all tabs is opened Local disk (C:))
3. Try to create 3-rd tab with double click in inactive panel (about 2-4 millimeters from inactive tab - while tab grow you click exact on tab close). 2-nd tab in inactive panel was closed.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2499
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 671:Tabs closed when new tab created with double click

#6 Post by Marek » 12.09.2014, 19:37

Still present for me in 672. But there are some nuances.
Your scenario is true if "Show close buton on active tab" is on. Unfortunatelly in that case I get no "DoubleClick" message from Windows so your DoubleClick is for me as two single clicks.

[DK]
Posts: 3
Joined: 21.07.2014, 15:08

Re: 671:Tabs closed when new tab created with double click

#7 Post by [DK] » 30.09.2014, 13:42

Still present for me with build 672.

Below some screenshots.
Green square: No problem with these settings.
Red square: Problem occurs with these settings.
working.png
not_working_1.png
not_working_2.png

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests