7zip setup

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Message
Author
joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: 7zip setup

#16 Post by joby_toss » 14.05.2013, 17:59

In my "total7zip.template.xml" file, the value of "alwaysWait7zip" is "0" not "1". FC had problems if it was 0, but it works OK for me now. Also, "7z.dll" version used is 9.22.

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#17 Post by boeltwit » 14.05.2013, 21:44

@ joby_toss,

OK also changed in "0" makes no differents also the DLL is the same beta version, all looks as if its working, I see all as normal (like in TotalCommander) I see the pack screen I only can't find a packed file, I have searched, maybe its saved in another strange place, but there is nothing, pitty, but maybe somebody has a good hint, you never know.

Thanks joby_toss, regards, Bert
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#18 Post by boeltwit » 16.05.2013, 19:10

OK, I know a litle bit more,

I have still a laptop with Windows 7 (32bits)........
Did exactly the same, same Folders etc same versions as on my PC, 7Zip works there, not the making of a selfextracter (exe) but it makes a 7z.
Thats more then I have under Windows 8.
Is it a Windows 8 64bit problem...?

Bert

UPDATE:

Version FCXE 6201 did the trick, I used the self installing version later I copy the zip version over it, total7zip (wcx_Total7zip_0856.rar) installed in the new path I changed the 8th line in the Total7zip.xml file " alwaysWait7zip="0" in " alwaysWait7zip="1" and 7z is packing now, exact the same as in Windows 7 32bits but the building of a selfextracter is also not working, but this is finetuning I think FCXE don't know what to do with the option build a selfactracter.
It was not a Windows 8 64bits problem... :mrgreen:


I am going to look to the other stuff.

Thanks Marek
Last edited by boeltwit on 17.05.2013, 19:23, edited 1 time in total.
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#19 Post by boeltwit » 17.05.2013, 09:32

OK, I know but maybe somebody reads this and think ...... maybe.......

Good what did I do after I find out that 7zip works now, only not the selfextracter, I thougth I fool the FCXE program by using a unknow extention (sfx, not zip or 7z...) when you use this the configuration screen from 7zip comes up there you check again the SFX selfectracting function and then he makes a good exe file.

This is what I did with the extention name:

Image

Then when you going to create a selfextracter (alt+F5) you check this and choose the sfx extention:

Image

After conferming this you get the 7Zip configuration screen, check the SFX function:

Image

The selfextracter is build and when you activate it you see the function from it:

Image




I know this is not the way to do it, but for me now it works good, someday it will be working all from out FCXE

Regards, Bert
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

Timon
Posts: 688
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: 7zip setup

#20 Post by Timon » 17.05.2013, 15:55

Confirmed that even FC XE 621 could not make SFX archive with exe extension using Total7Zip without additional tricks.
Total Commander 8 make SFX archive using Total7Zip without any problems.

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#21 Post by boeltwit » 17.05.2013, 20:49

Timon wrote:Confirmed that even FC XE 621 could not make SFX archive with exe extension using Total7Zip without additional tricks.
Total Commander 8 make SFX archive using Total7Zip without any problems.
Thanks for your replay Timon,

Its correct TC is doing this perfect.
But its a "litle" thing I think, its a litle unstabile what the selection from the files is doing and then pass it trough to 7Zip, I have seen now that sometimes the Compression format is changing to bzip2 then the SFX option is gone, when you change the Compression format back to 7zip than the SFX comes back and you can check this.
So I think there goes something wrong in the selection from FCXE to Total7zip, but still I can work with it like this, for the moment.

Until now I still like FCXE more than TC x64 8.01.

Regards, Bert
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#22 Post by boeltwit » 26.05.2013, 20:02

In version 623 from FCXE is a extra setup option in Zip/Unzip:
Self-extracting (SFX) stub:
I put here the following in: (by me this is the only working setup)

Image

Now the selfexctracter is working like in NC, I only have to give the exe-file a name (if I want), switch on
create selfextracting and in the other screen comes the selfextracter, without tricks now, perfect.
Also when I test the extracting function from the exe-file its good working. :)


Superprogram!!! Superowner!!!
Last edited by boeltwit on 27.05.2013, 15:02, edited 3 times in total.
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

Timon
Posts: 688
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: 7zip setup

#23 Post by Timon » 27.05.2013, 08:15

In 623 for internal fcZip use FCSFXStub.exe as "SFX stub" to have ability to create SFX files:

C:\Program Files\FreeCommander XE\FCSFXStub.exe

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#24 Post by boeltwit » 27.05.2013, 10:00

Timon wrote:In 623 for internal fcZip use FCSFXStub.exe as "SFX stub" to have ability to create SFX files:

C:\Program Files\FreeCommander XE\FCSFXStub.exe

Thanks Timon, I did not look in the Folder from FCXE but only in 7zip and the working is almost the same,
only the Icon from 7z is not made now, but its better like this, I never knew that this was in FCXE, thanks
for looking and replaying.

Regards, Bert
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

Timon
Posts: 688
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: 7zip setup

#25 Post by Timon » 27.05.2013, 11:26

For:
Total7Zip you should use %FcSrcPath%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\7z.sfx
fcZip you should use %FcSrcPath%\FCSFXStub.exe

In that case everything would be fine with icon when packing SFX

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#26 Post by boeltwit » 27.05.2013, 13:01

Timon wrote:For:
Total7Zip you should use %FcSrcPath%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\7z.sfx
fcZip you should use %FcSrcPath%\FCSFXStub.exe

In that case everything would be fine with icon when packing SFX
Yep your right, but I think its different with me now, when I changed the path in %FcSrcPath% then its
indeed the same, what I was saying was that when I use 7z.sfx in the Stub option, then I had an other icon: 7z ( not importend)
what I see now is that the exe-file is not extracting, when I use my version, %FcSrcPath%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\7z.sfx then
there is created an exe-file that is extracting perfect, can you check this for me..?
Or do you use:
%FcSrcPath%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\7z.sfx at least you wrote this...
I use %FcSrcPath%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

Timon
Posts: 688
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: 7zip setup

#27 Post by Timon » 27.05.2013, 19:00

For:
Total7Zip
Plugin file:
%FcSrcPath%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
SFX stub:
%FcSrcPath%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\7z.sfx

fcZip
Plugin file:
fc_internal_zip
SFX stub:
%FcSrcPath%\FCSFXStub.exe

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#28 Post by boeltwit » 27.05.2013, 19:27

Timon wrote:For:
Total7Zip
Plugin file:
%FcSrcPath%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
SFX stub:
%FcSrcPath%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\7z.sfx

fcZip
Plugin file:
fc_internal_zip
SFX stub:
%FcSrcPath%\FCSFXStub.exe

OK, correct Timon,

You where talking about 2, 7zip and Zip and I only about 7zip, but its now all normal working, thanks.
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests