7zip setup

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Message
Author
boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

7zip setup

#1 Post by boeltwit » 12.05.2013, 17:41

Hello all,
I am shure somewhere on this site it stands, I am new here, new in using FreeCommander (100 times better than Total Commander, use this from the begin, Windows Commander etc.) but I mis the 7z util integration. I have read a lot here, but I have not found a compleet "how to setup 7z in FreeCommander" I use the FreeCommander XE, latest version and have downloaden from Giesler the Total7z util. FreeCommander I start from drive D:, in that Dir I have installed WCX with Total7zip etc.

Settings
Archiver plugins
WCX ZIP packer: fcZip


Active Title Extensions Options Plugin file
7zip zip.jar.war 607 D:\Install\PlanFastWerkprogramma\FreeCommanderBeta\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
fcZ... zip.jar.war 607 fc_internal_zip




Title: FileExtensions:
7zip zip.jar.war
Plugin file:D:\Install\PlanFastWerkprogramma\FreeCommanderBeta\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx

Supported options ﴾607﴿:

I have added the path in the files: Total7zip.xml and total7zip.template.xml

<path path_7z_dll="" path_7zG_exe="D:\Install\PlanFastWerkprogramma's\FreeCommanderBeta\wcx\Total7zip\7z.dll\" />
<path64bit path_7zG_exe="" path_7z_dll="D:\Install\PlanFastWerkprogramma's\FreeCommanderBeta\wcx\Total7zip\64\7z.dll" />
<compression save="1" sfx="7z.sfx" updateSfx="0" askByContent="0" askByContentTimeout="1" alwaysWait7zip="1" extractToTempCount="20" deleteToRecycleBin="1" keySimpleMode="-1">


But when I want to open a zip file I get this:

FreeCommander

Can not load plugin
"D:\Install\PlanFastWerkprogramma\FreeCommanderBeta\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx"
OK



Also when I want to pack files, the same screen, and there works nothing, what am I doing wrong?
I hope that somebody knows this.....

Regards, Bert
Last edited by boeltwit on 12.05.2013, 20:22, edited 2 times in total.
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

Timon
Posts: 683
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: 7zip setup

#2 Post by Timon » 12.05.2013, 18:20

As I see missed "." after "7zip" extension
7zip zip.jar.war
(and 7zip extension doesn't exist - 7z is right)

Correct extensions, supported by 7zip for both packing and unpacking are:
7z.zip.xz.bzip2.gzip.tar.wim
If you specify other extensions that are not supported for packing by 7zip (like rar, cab, ...), when you try to pack archive of such a type you'll see an error message or program crash.
Last edited by Timon on 12.05.2013, 18:53, edited 1 time in total.

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: 7zip setup

#3 Post by joby_toss » 12.05.2013, 18:25

My settings:

Image

Be sure this plugin is the only one handling 7z files.
%FcSrcPath% is the path for FreeCommander.exe and Total7zip is in a subfolder.

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#4 Post by boeltwit » 12.05.2013, 20:11

Timon wrote:As I see missed "." after "7zip" extension
7zip zip.jar.war
(and 7zip extension doesn't exist - 7z is right)

Correct extensions, supported by 7zip for both packing and unpacking are:
7z.zip.xz.bzip2.gzip.tar.wim
If you specify other extensions that are not supported for packing by 7zip (like rar, cab, ...), when you try to pack archive of such a type you'll see an error message or program crash.

Thanks Timon,

The first 7zip is the Title (you can see this in your screen too, so it can't be by this mistakes, but thanks for answering.
I have tried to look if the extention names did react at others 7z.rar.x2.zip.lzh but it stay's the same.
The strange thing is that it gives exact the right path and that the file can't be load, but everything is correct...

Thanks again...
Last edited by boeltwit on 12.05.2013, 20:42, edited 1 time in total.
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#5 Post by boeltwit » 12.05.2013, 20:15

joby_toss wrote:My settings:

Image

Be sure this plugin is the only one handling 7z files.
%FcSrcPath% is the path for FreeCommander.exe and Total7zip is in a subfolder.
Thanks joby_toss,

I have taken the whole first path and renamed how you have it, its exact the same, the path is correct incl. the filname, but the program don't load it...
Used also all your extention names, but ots not working....
Only Supported options (607): I can't change this, in your screen I see (735):

Regards, Bert
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

User avatar
alf5000
Posts: 455
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: 7zip setup

#6 Post by alf5000 » 12.05.2013, 21:34

be sure to use wcx_Total7zip_0852
I recall that I also had problems like yours with any newer version of the plugin.
Last edited by alf5000 on 12.05.2013, 21:41, edited 1 time in total.
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: 7zip setup

#7 Post by joby_toss » 12.05.2013, 21:41

Would be very helpful to post a screenshot like mine...

Timon
Posts: 683
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: 7zip setup

#8 Post by Timon » 13.05.2013, 06:48

I'm disagree with @alf5000
wcx_Total7zip_0856 works without any problems.

User avatar
alf5000
Posts: 455
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: 7zip setup

#9 Post by alf5000 » 13.05.2013, 08:29

@Timon
thanks, your right.
but i'm pretty sure that i had that kind of problems with (older?) FCXE
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#10 Post by boeltwit » 13.05.2013, 13:16

alf5000 wrote:@Timon
thanks, your right.
but i'm pretty sure that i had that kind of problems with (older?) FCXE

Thanks all for reacting it help !

I have tried 852 with me (Win 8 64) and than FCXE crash with a bugreport, when I install Total7zip 856 then its working now.
First I have installed FCXE new also Total7zip and did nothing with the 64 bits file (I tought its better for me) and now I have no Error loading screen and the zipper is working for 50%, extracting is no problem, like TotalCommander, but I can't creat a zip or 7z file all wat I see looks good, but its doing nothing, all goes to the temp Dir from Total7zip but not to the path and to the other screen.

Image

I think the configuration is OK, the target path is correct:

Image

When I press here Configure, I see the Temp path from Total7zip

Image

And when I check Files in FCXE, then I see the source path is correct:

Image

All is looking exact like in TotalCommander, but its not working, no errors, nothing.
So its working for 50% but I still love this filemanager and I hope to get this working its so easy to use.
Thanks all for thinking and put your time in it.

Regards, Bert
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

Timon
Posts: 683
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: 7zip setup

#11 Post by Timon » 13.05.2013, 16:44

For 64-bit OS you should use Total7zip.wcx64 (now Total7zip.wcx is used). May be that could help to fix problem.

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: 7zip setup

#12 Post by joby_toss » 13.05.2013, 19:10

I use Total7zip.wcx on win7x64 and have no problems.

I have the same settings, except for 1:

Image

Try opening your FreeCommander.ini file (while FC is close) and changing that 607 number you have, with 735.
I don't remember why I have 735 there...

Could be a windows8 issue?

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2495
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 7zip setup

#13 Post by Marek » 13.05.2013, 19:58

For 64-bit OS you should use Total7zip.wcx64 (now Total7zip.wcx is used). May be that could help to fix problem.
Total7zip.wcx64 is for 64-Bit programs not for 64-Bit Windows.
Could be a windows8 issue?
No. I have no problems on Windows 8.

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#14 Post by boeltwit » 13.05.2013, 21:22

@ joby_toss,

Thanks joby_toss,

I had seen this too, in TotalCommander they use this 735 also, good tip to change this in the ini file, I did this, but I can see its doing something, I see quick a window packing files, but its not written in the target place, so nothing.
I tride the internal zipper and that is working perfect.
I use 7zip almost alone and make a lot of self extracters, what is no problem for TC, but this must also work in FCXE.
Maybe Marek has an idea..?

Thanks for thinking with me...

Bert
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

boeltwit
Posts: 23
Joined: 12.05.2013, 09:05
Location: Nederland

Re: 7zip setup

#15 Post by boeltwit » 13.05.2013, 21:41

Timon wrote:For 64-bit OS you should use Total7zip.wcx64 (now Total7zip.wcx is used). May be that could help to fix problem.
Thanks Timon,

This is what I wrote, I used direct the 64 files, but FCXE don't like this, then I get the Load Error screen and is doing nothing.
When I use the standard files from 7z (32) then all goes good, only FCXE don't write the zip file, not in 7z, zip or exe as selfextracter.
Win 8, 64bits FCXE (ex NortonCommander, WindowsCommander, TotalCommander, SpeedCommander)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests