Own copy function for better performance

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Message
Author
User avatar
RuCla
Posts: 20
Joined: 07.11.2007, 15:35
Location: Germany

Own copy function for better performance

#1 Post by RuCla » 07.10.2008, 11:09

Hello everyone,
I use FC for a long time and I really like it. But when I have to copy or move a file from one place to another the speed of this action is really very slow. I know that FC uses the standard windows functions but other file explorer use their own functions. So is it possible to create a more performant way to copy or move with FC?
Best regards
Rudi

User avatar
Fad
Posts: 137
Joined: 21.10.2007, 16:22
Location: England

#2 Post by Fad » 07.10.2008, 12:12

This has been mentioned in the past......somewhere :D

at the moment, some people are using an alternative method to handle copy/move functions, like SuperCopier or Teracopy...

there are a few others I think as well, but until this function is built into FC...this is the only way at the moment to bypass the Windows copy functions.

Hopefully this will be implemented in the future, but not sure when this may happen.

User avatar
RuCla
Posts: 20
Joined: 07.11.2007, 15:35
Location: Germany

#3 Post by RuCla » 07.10.2008, 12:18

maybe Marek can answer this....
Best regards
Rudi

MrYman
Posts: 5
Joined: 10.11.2008, 08:46

#4 Post by MrYman » 10.11.2008, 16:55

RuCla wrote:maybe Marek can answer this....
KillCopy (it's free too) works GREAT with FC! Though, default skin is ugly, but luckily there are many others to choose from...
Link: http://killprog.narod.ru/killcopye.html (You'll have to edit freecommander.ini though.)
Marek wrote:So long the FC own file operations are not implemented yet, one can try to use external programs.
To be able to use external programs you must define the following lines in the freecommander.ini

for KillCopy
FileMovePrg=C:\WINDOWS\system32\killcopy.exe |%ActivSelAsFile%|%InactivDir%|-mrg
FileCopyPrg=C:\WINDOWS\system32\killcopy.exe |%ActivSelAsFile%|%InactivDir%

or for TeraCopy
FileMovePrg=C:\Programme\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe Move %ActivSelAsFile% %InactivDir%
FileCopyPrg=C:\Programme\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe Copy %ActivSelAsFile% %InactivDir%

uwee
Posts: 86
Joined: 12.10.2007, 16:18
Location: Dortmund/Germany

#5 Post by uwee » 10.11.2008, 20:56

For TeraCopy you are missing the very important Star "*":

FileMovePrg=C:\Program Files\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe Move *%ActivSelAsFile% "%InactivDir%"
FileCopyPrg=C:\Program Files\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe Copy *%ActivSelAsFile% "%InactivDir%"
Uwe

MrYman
Posts: 5
Joined: 10.11.2008, 08:46

#6 Post by MrYman » 10.11.2008, 21:35

uwee wrote:For TeraCopy you are missing the very important Star "*":

FileMovePrg=C:\Program Files\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe Move *%ActivSelAsFile% "%InactivDir%"
FileCopyPrg=C:\Program Files\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe Copy *%ActivSelAsFile% "%InactivDir%"
Thanks! Do you also know the correct lines for Ultracopier?

fallout33
Posts: 15
Joined: 14.09.2009, 21:35

Re:

#7 Post by fallout33 » 17.03.2012, 20:31

MrYman wrote:[...] Do you also know the correct lines for Ultracopier? [...]
In the meantime more than 3 years have passed since the last posting, but the question stays the same:
How to integrate Ultracopier into FreeCommander?

The integration into Windows does not work. The only way to use it is to explicitly open a file copy/move window from the tray icon, chose source and destination and start copying. But this is very inconvenient.

Config file entries like the the ones below do not work:

Code: Select all

FileCopyPrg=C:\Program Files (x86)\Ultracopier\ultracopier.exe copy %ActivSelAsFile% %InactivDir%

Code: Select all

FileCopyPrg=C:\Program Files (x86)\Ultracopier\ultracopier.exe cp %ActivSelAsFile% %InactivDir%
Windows 7 64bit SP1
FreeCommander 2009.02b
Ultracopier 0.2.0.15

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 812
Joined: 31.10.2007, 18:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Own copy function for better performance

#8 Post by ralfso » 17.03.2012, 21:32

The new FreeCommander XE has its own copy routine.

http://www.freecommander.com/fc_beta_en.htm
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

fallout33
Posts: 15
Joined: 14.09.2009, 21:35

Re: Own copy function for better performance

#9 Post by fallout33 » 17.03.2012, 21:53

ralfso wrote:[...] The new FreeCommander XE has its own copy routine [...]
Does this mean, that Ultracopier cannot be integrated into FreeCommander and that the FreeCommander copy/move routine has to be used instead?

joby_toss
Posts: 1345
Joined: 22.07.2009, 21:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Own copy function for better performance

#10 Post by joby_toss » 17.03.2012, 22:10

It means that most people don't need to.

fallout33
Posts: 15
Joined: 14.09.2009, 21:35

Re: Own copy function for better performance

#11 Post by fallout33 » 18.03.2012, 16:19

joby_toss wrote:[...] It means that most people don't need to. [...]
Don't need to what? Use the plugin?
Well, actually this does not answer my question because I did not ask if many people want to do that.

What I do wanted to know is if the integration is (easily) possible and if yes, how?

joby_toss
Posts: 1345
Joined: 22.07.2009, 21:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Own copy function for better performance

#12 Post by joby_toss » 18.03.2012, 17:34

I've just tested version 0.3.0.3 portable and it works (intercepts) with FC XE 581 and FC 2009.02b.418 using Ctrl+C/Ctrl+V commands, on my win7x64sp1 (just like yours ;) ).

The command line syntax should look like this:

Code: Select all

ultracopier cp [folders/files] [destination folder]
ultracopier cp [file] [destination file]
ultracopier mv [folders/files] [destination folder]
ultracopier mv [file] [destination file]
ultracopier Copy [path of copy list in utf16] [destination folder]
ultracopier Move [path of move list in utf16] [destination folder]

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 812
Joined: 31.10.2007, 18:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Own copy function for better performance

#13 Post by ralfso » 18.03.2012, 17:48

Don't need to what? Use the plugin?
It means that most people don't need to use external tools to copy or move files.

FC 2009 used windows copy routine and couldn't do other things while copying large files.
So a lot of people use external tools to separate the copy process.
Now FCXe can separate this by its own copy process.

Have you tried to ask in Ultracopier-Forum for commandline-parameters?
Maybe a"*" like for Teracopy or a "/" is necessary for starting parameters.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

inglorious
Posts: 277
Joined: 01.09.2011, 00:10

Re: Own copy function for better performance

#14 Post by inglorious » 18.03.2012, 20:53

even in the new XE version copying big files is a pain, as FC UI becomes pretty sluggish.
Support incl. documentation for third party copy functions (teracopy, nicecopier...) is still very appreciated.
Win7x64

joby_toss
Posts: 1345
Joined: 22.07.2009, 21:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Own copy function for better performance

#15 Post by joby_toss » 18.03.2012, 21:05

FC XE already supports 3rd party transfer tools, we just need to know their command line options:

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 55 guests