FreeCommander XE Portable

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
mauito
Posts: 18
Joined: 29.12.2010, 09:56

FreeCommander XE Portable

#1 Post by mauito » 09.03.2011, 06:07

Is FreeCommander XE available in portable format?

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 657
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: FreeCommander XE Portable

#2 Post by ralfso » 09.03.2011, 11:32

http://www.freecommander.com/fc_beta_en.htm

Portable: To install the program unpack the file FreeCommander2010prealfa.zip in one folder - do not use your 'Programs' folder.
Setup: The setup version: fcxe_setup.zip .
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

yorik
Posts: 4
Joined: 05.04.2011, 08:32

Re: FreeCommander XE Portable

#3 Post by yorik » 05.04.2011, 08:45

ralfso wrote:http://www.freecommander.com/fc_beta_en.htm

Portable: To install the program unpack the file FreeCommander2010prealfa.zip in one folder - do not use your 'Programs' folder.
Setup: The setup version: fcxe_setup.zip .
"portable" and "does not require installation" different concepts. fcxe_setup.zip requires the rights to record the configuration files on the hard disk of your computer. portable version must record this files on portable device.

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 657
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: FreeCommander XE Portable

#4 Post by ralfso » 05.04.2011, 15:13

Also the settings of XE aren't feature complete (remember it's a preview-version).
I've not noticed this because I always have an old "freecommander.ini" in the application folder.

You can save an empty text file in the application folder an the rename it to "freecommander.ini".

After this you can start FC as a portable app.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

AEN007
Posts: 107
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: FreeCommander XE Portable

#5 Post by AEN007 » 07.04.2011, 09:45

I am going to try the FC XEß.
I would like to ask/know if I can "safely" start/use FC XEß by copying in my current FC 9b ini & shc files?

... Apparently not ...
how can 9b users migrate to XE(ß) and "import" as many ini/shc settings as possible?
Anything would better than starting from scratch ...
I have imported the 9b & XEß inis into XL and alpha sorted them to try to compare ini entries ...
It seems XEß has some ini entries more than once like ... AutoSaveSettings / CloseAsMinimize / ...
I don't know which, if any, might be un-needed duplicates?

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 657
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: FreeCommander XE Portable

#6 Post by ralfso » 07.04.2011, 17:51

You can extract the FreeCommander2010prealfa.zip into an empty folder.
Make a subfolder "settings".
Copy all your old configuration files (FreeCommander.ini, FreeCommander.shc, ...) to this settings folder.
Start freecommander.exe and these ini files are used by FCXE.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

AEN007
Posts: 107
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: FreeCommander XE Portable

#7 Post by AEN007 » 08.04.2011, 12:59

Thanks ...
I wondering if my FCXEpα has/had dead ini entries from 9b?
After I posted my question above, I put my ini/shc fils in my FreeComm dir and launched FCXEpα.
FCXEpα seems to have adopted my .shc without any problems.

After I read your reply, I backed up my existing FCXEpα.ini file, removed it, put my FC9b.ini file in a Settings subdir & launched FCXEpα.
I then compared the two FCXEpα ini file.
My first FCXEpα ini file had LOTS of entries not in the 2nd ini file.
It seems these were from 9b and maybe not used/needed by FCXEpα.
I could submit those items if someone could/would take a look at them ...

yorik
Posts: 4
Joined: 05.04.2011, 08:32

Re: FreeCommander XE Portable

#8 Post by yorik » 13.04.2011, 07:22

ralfso wrote: You can save an empty text file in the application folder an the rename it to "freecommander.ini".

After this you can start FC as a portable app.
thank you, now works as it should :D

AEN007
Posts: 107
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: FreeCommander XE Portable

#9 Post by AEN007 » 13.04.2011, 08:34

It seems XE always creates a FreeCommXE directory in AppData even if XE stores/reads nothing there ... "Portable Apps" can be told not to write to AppData

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest