Dual/one panel (F10) - "split horizontal" state forgotten

Bugs and other issues or requests which have been resolved.
Post Reply
Message
Author
dsperber
Posts: 96
Joined: 28.03.2010, 00:35

Dual/one panel (F10) - "split horizontal" state forgotten

#1 Post by dsperber » 04.05.2014, 02:50

I toggle between what I call "split-screen" and "full-screen" presentations, using the "toggle between dual and one panel (F10)" icon button. And I NEVER use the left/right side-by-side presentation of the two panels for split-screen. Instead I ALWAYS use the over/under two panel presentation, i.e. "split horizontal". This is how I've always operated with the previous FC 2009 and also how I now operate (or want to operate) with FC XE.

With FC XE, as long as I keep my split-screen presentation in effect, and with View -> split horizontal in effect (so that the two panels are over/under), everything is fine. I can close the program and re-open it and the over/under two panel split-screen presentation is retained. No problem.

If I now want to go to "full-screen" mode (i.e. single panel), and I push the "toggle between dual and one panel (F10)" icon button, the presentation does in fact change to the single panel mode. Split-screen is gone. Works fine. No problem.

But if I should then close the program, and go away for a while (or a day), and then come back in later (or another day) and launch FC XE (being of course correctly presented in the same full-screen mode as it was last in), and then once again push the "toggle between dual and one panel (F10)" icon button to get back to split-screen two-panel presentation, I am placed into left/right "side-by-side" vertical-split presentation mode... which is NOT what I want, and NOT where I was the last time I was in two-panel mode.

I want to again be in over/under "horizontal split" presentation mode, but that's not what happens by default.

Instead, I am now forced to once again use View -> split horizontal, in order to change from the vertical split left/right side-by-side two panels to my desired over/under horizontal split two panels presentation.


This was not a problem with the old FC 2009. It's only a new problem with FC XE.

Please fix this, so that my previous View -> split horizontal choice for the two panels in split-screen mode is remembered, so that the next time I toggle from one-panel to two-panel presentation I'm also in my last selected View -> split horizontal state as well, with my two panels once again shown over/under as I wanted.

Thanks.

dsperber
Posts: 96
Joined: 28.03.2010, 00:35

Re: Dual/one panel (F10) - "split horizontal" state forgotte

#2 Post by dsperber » 02.06.2014, 06:15

Seriously? Nobody else minds that the over/under "split horizontal" view setting is not remembered??

I find it incredibly annoying that if I go back to single-pane view from 2-pane over/under view and close the program, that the next time I open the program and push the "toggle between dual and one panel (F10)" button it is once again in its default orientation of 2-pane left/right mode, and then I have to again go to View -> split horizontal, and which then is initially not showing in that lower pane the last folder which had been showing in horizontal-split mode. Instead, it shows "Computer" in the lower pane. And I then have to close the program and re-open it (with the over/under panes visible), to now finally see what I wanted to see in the first place, namely whatever folder had previously occupied the lower pane the last time I was at this point when closing the program.

Again... this is obviously a bug, and should be fixed. The FC2009 program "remembered" everything about split-screen mode, and pushing the single-pane/double-pane button toggled between single-pane and double-pane view modes. But everything you were seeing in double-pane mode was "remembered", so that the next time you toggled from single-pane to double-pane you were exactly back as you last looked when you were last in double-pane mode.

FreeCommander XE need to be fixed to do exactly the same thing as FC2009 in this regard. As the program currently works it is simply a bug, and is obviously NOT working correctly. This current behavior couldn't possibly have been the intent and must simply be a coding oversight.

PLEASE PLEASE FIX THIS!!! For me it is the single really bothersome defect in the XE program. I end up therefore always closing the program while still in double-pane mode, just so that I don't have to fight with this nonsense the next time I open the program if I'd left it while in single-pane mode.

Karol
Posts: 701
Joined: 19.08.2007, 10:05

Re: Dual/one panel (F10) - "split horizontal" state forgotte

#3 Post by Karol » 02.06.2014, 08:11

It was fixed in the release 660 viewtopic.php?p=18660#p18660

horst.epp
Posts: 155
Joined: 15.11.2008, 19:18

Re: Dual/one panel (F10) - "split horizontal" state forgotte

#4 Post by horst.epp » 02.06.2014, 09:11

dsperber wrote:Seriously? Nobody else minds that the over/under "split horizontal" view setting is not remembered??

I find it incredibly annoying that if I go back to single-pane view from 2-pane over/under view and close the program, that the next time I open the program and push the "toggle between dual and one panel (F10)" button it is once again in its default orientation of 2-pane left/right mode, and then I have to again go to View -> split horizontal, and which then is initially not showing in that lower pane the last folder which had been showing in horizontal-split mode. Instead, it shows "Computer" in the lower pane. And I then have to close the program and re-open it (with the over/under panes visible), to now finally see what I wanted to see in the first place, namely whatever folder had previously occupied the lower pane the last time I was at this point when closing the program.

Again... this is obviously a bug, and should be fixed. The FC2009 program "remembered" everything about split-screen mode, and pushing the single-pane/double-pane button toggled between single-pane and double-pane view modes. But everything you were seeing in double-pane mode was "remembered", so that the next time you toggled from single-pane to double-pane you were exactly back as you last looked when you were last in double-pane mode.

FreeCommander XE need to be fixed to do exactly the same thing as FC2009 in this regard. As the program currently works it is simply a bug, and is obviously NOT working correctly. This current behavior couldn't possibly have been the intent and must simply be a coding oversight.

PLEASE PLEASE FIX THIS!!! For me it is the single really bothersome defect in the XE program. I end up therefore always closing the program while still in double-pane mode, just so that I don't have to fight with this nonsense the next time I open the program if I'd left it while in single-pane mode.
Please donate and use the actual beta then you will found it fixed.
If you don't want to donate wait for the next public build and don't report things twice.
There is no obligation for a free program author to always respond to every error report.

dsperber
Posts: 96
Joined: 28.03.2010, 00:35

Re: Dual/one panel (F10) - "split horizontal" state forgotte

#5 Post by dsperber » 11.06.2014, 19:46

I did not realize that this bug had now been fixed in a beta version.

I HAVE made a donation of 10 euros which should entitle me to beta version access, but don't know where the latest beta version is available for download. I've received no email providing a URL for the beta.

What am I missing?? I'd sure like to update my version of the program to get this particular problem corrected.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3513
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Dual/one panel (F10) - "split horizontal" state forgotte

#6 Post by Dreamer » 11.06.2014, 21:06

Please contact Marek via e-mail, you can find it here:

http://www.freecommander.com/fc_contact_en.htm

dsperber
Posts: 96
Joined: 28.03.2010, 00:35

Re: Dual/one panel (F10) - "split horizontal" state forgotte

#7 Post by dsperber » 12.06.2014, 20:30

I've been in touch with Marek. It's now all straightened out.

And I've installed the latest beta, where the issue has indeed been fixed.

Thanks.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3513
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Dual/one panel (F10) - "split horizontal" state forgotte

#8 Post by Dreamer » 13.06.2014, 00:53

You're welcome. Good to hear the problem is solved.

Topic closed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests