Make FC Always On Top

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
kagard
Posts: 2
Joined: 30.09.2019, 17:10

Make FC Always On Top

#1 Post by kagard » 30.09.2019, 17:28

Greetings:

I'd like to make the FreeCommander window stay on top of all other windows.
I searched the menus, the help file, and the board, but didn't find anything.
Is this possible, and if so, how?

TIA,

Keith

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 6115
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: Make FC Always On Top

#2 Post by Dreamer » 30.09.2019, 22:32

Hello Keith, welcome to the FreeCommander forum.

I don't think so.

Workaround, external tool like HotkeyP, useful free program, you can make any window always on top with a custom shortcut.

kagard
Posts: 2
Joined: 30.09.2019, 17:10

Re: Make FC Always On Top

#3 Post by kagard » 03.10.2019, 19:37

Thanks for the reply. I'll code something quick in AutoHotkey. Odd FC doesn't have that option. Many of the dual-pane file managers do. I'll like FC best, though, so I'll figure it out.

Thanks,

Keith

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 812
Joined: 31.10.2007, 18:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Make FC Always On Top

#4 Post by ralfso » 03.10.2019, 19:56

This autohotkey-code is in my standard-AHK-script:

Code: Select all

; Hotkeys:
; Always_on_top_AHK - Strg + Win + A - make window always on top

^#a::
WinGet, currentWindow, ID, A
WinGet, ExStyle, ExStyle, ahk_id %currentWindow%
if (ExStyle & 0x8)  ; 0x8 is WS_EX_TOPMOST.
{
	Winset, AlwaysOnTop, off, ahk_id %currentWindow%
	SplashImage,, x0 y0 b fs12, OFF always on top.
	Sleep, 1500
	SplashImage, Off
}
else
{
	WinSet, AlwaysOnTop, on, ahk_id %currentWindow%
	SplashImage,,x0 y0 b fs12, ON always on top.
	Sleep, 1500
	SplashImage, Off
}
return
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1312
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Make FC Always On Top

#5 Post by Forez » 30.10.2019, 11:57

ralfso wrote: 03.10.2019, 19:56 This autohotkey-code is in my standard-AHK-script:
So this script is appliabe to every window?

What does the Strg stand for?
Last edited by Forez on 30.10.2019, 12:00, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 812
Joined: 31.10.2007, 18:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Make FC Always On Top

#6 Post by ralfso » 30.10.2019, 12:24

Forez wrote: 30.10.2019, 11:57 So this script is appliabe to every window?
I think so, even dialog windows are fixed on top.
Forez wrote: 30.10.2019, 11:57 What does the Strg stand for?
excuse me, Strg on german keyboard is Ctrl on english keyboard.
Shortcut ^#a = Ctrl + Win + a
but you can define every shortcut you want (if it's not in use by system or foreground program)
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 6115
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: Make FC Always On Top

#7 Post by Dreamer » 31.10.2019, 20:52

With HotkeyP it's easier:

Hot Key: any
Command: Always on top

That's all, you can use the custom global shortcut to toggle always on top for any program/window.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests