Use 64-bit Version On 32-bit Systems

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
thisguycecil
Posts: 44
Joined: 05.12.2013, 02:08

Use 64-bit Version On 32-bit Systems

#1 Post by thisguycecil » 04.10.2014, 15:53

Hello.

Can I install the 64-bit version in 32-bit Windows XP or Windows 7? Or should I just stick with the 32-bit version?

------------
Regards, Cecil

Ivkosky
Posts: 22
Joined: 06.03.2013, 11:09

Re: Use 64-bit Version On 32-bit Systems

#2 Post by Ivkosky » 04.10.2014, 16:07

Hi, you cannot install 64-bit version on 32-bit systems and even if you could, I think that it would make no sense and be of no use. Stick to the 32-bit version and let us know if you encounter any issues (or even if you don't! :)).

thisguycecil
Posts: 44
Joined: 05.12.2013, 02:08

Re: Use 64-bit Version On 32-bit Systems

#3 Post by thisguycecil » 06.10.2014, 21:45

Okay, thanks for the advice.

My logic (or not!) was to simplify configuration and administration. I run several 32-bit Windows 7 systems in addition to some newer 64-bit Windows 7 systems. Guess I was hoping to install and configure just one install of FreeCommander in a 32-bit computer, and then copy it to all my computers, including 64-bit ones. I thought that since the software itself can be installed as a portable app, why can't I make it "really" portable. :shock:

All my Windows 7 systems are configured the same. In other words, same number of partitions, layout and name of drive volumes, common naming of key folders, etc.

I guess I will need to experiment on how to manually import as much of the 32-bit configuration settings as possible into the x64 environment.

Thanks again.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests