Work with FreeCommander while copying/moving

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Ivkosky
Posts: 22
Joined: 06.03.2013, 11:09

Work with FreeCommander while copying/moving

#1 Post by Ivkosky » 02.10.2014, 05:13

Hi all

This has been possibly already raised, but I haven't found such topic here on the forum. I have noticed that I cannot work with FreeCommander while I copy or move files. The program basically freezes until the files are moved or copied. I know that a simple workaround is to allow more instances of FreeCommander, but this is obviously not an ideal option.

Not sure whether this needs to go into bug reports (as you can do this in Windows Explorer) or here. Is there any option to add this functionality? I tested it on v650 (x86) as well as v673 (x64).

Thanks!

joby_toss
Posts: 1345
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Work with FreeCommander while copying/moving

#2 Post by joby_toss » 02.10.2014, 05:48

Try these options:

Image

Karol
Posts: 772
Joined: 19.08.2007, 10:05

Re: Work with FreeCommander while copying/moving

#3 Post by Karol » 02.10.2014, 06:17

The program basically freezes until the files are moved or copied.
Try to use F5/F6 for copy/move and not drag&drop (for big files).

Karol
Posts: 772
Joined: 19.08.2007, 10:05

Re: Work with FreeCommander while copying/moving

#4 Post by Karol » 02.10.2014, 06:20

... and if you like drag&drop - try to decativate the option "Use blocking transfer..." under Settings-File/folder operations - Drag&drop.

Ivkosky
Posts: 22
Joined: 06.03.2013, 11:09

Re: Work with FreeCommander while copying/moving

#5 Post by Ivkosky » 02.10.2014, 18:54

All: I wasn't using drag&drop, but CTRL+C/CTRL+V or CTRL+X/CTRL+V. Anyway, the F5/F6 is obviously a neat workaround, which I haven't realised - thanks Karol. It is also quicker than CTRL+C/CTRL+V, which is quite strange. :)

joby_toss: Changing the settings to those posted in your picture didn't help, but thanks anyway.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4052
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Work with FreeCommander while copying/moving

#6 Post by Dreamer » 02.10.2014, 21:49

Hint from joby_toss works only when using F5/F6, it doesn't work with ctrl+x/c/v.

Ivkosky
Posts: 22
Joined: 06.03.2013, 11:09

Re: Work with FreeCommander while copying/moving

#7 Post by Ivkosky » 03.10.2014, 16:06

Dreamer wrote:Hint from joby_toss works only when using F5/F6, it doesn't work with ctrl+x/c/v.
Thanks for clarification Dreamer. I think you can lock this topic - solution found (using F5/F6 instead of other methods). :-)

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4052
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Work with FreeCommander while copying/moving

#8 Post by Dreamer » 03.10.2014, 20:50

You're welcome. Lock is not needed, moving the topic to General Discussion, similar requests exist in Feature Requests..

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests